8 mile Commute (16 miles Round Trip) I have some ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My wife has an 8 mile trip, 16 miles round trip, to work. (What constitutes short tripping? 15 miles and under?)

We use Mobil 1 EP in her car. (We get it for $29.00/jug at Wal-Mart) She does get longer trips in to burn off excess moisture every other week, often highway miles to boot.

What would the OCI recommendation be? Do I have to run several oil analysis to get a true idea? Is this the wrong oil completely? If I do, do I have to get the extra $10 TBN? I'd rather not have to pay a full $35 for an oil analysis.
crazy.gif

We live in Indiana where we got some regular -20 and lower temps this past winter. I am concerned about the shorter trips, cold starting, and the like. The car has 62k miles on it. It's a Honda Civic (2009).

I apologize. I am pretty new to all of this. I just know enough to ask questions. Any help is appreciated.

Last edited:
I talked to some guys from Blackstone (based inf Fort Wayne) at a car auction last summer and they said getting the TBN wasnt worth it FWIW.
21.gif

What is your factory recommended OCI? If you wanted you could just go to the regular M1, but honestly I think a quality conventional would be just fine with her driving.

Just shooting from the hip, but i'd say 5-7.5k intervals with conventional.

What does the owners manual say? 5k, 7.5k, 10k?

I wonder if spring/fall changes is sufficient; if doing 10k/year do conventional, if doing 20 use synthetic. Between and flip a coin.

Short trip to me is 3-5 miles. As long as she is getting the coolant up to temp during her trip, which is probably the case, then the occasional run on the freeway to get oil to do its job is fine. That run though, you need at least 20 mins of highway speeds after the coolant is at temp. No worries though... just go 10 mins one way. Stop a bit to enjoy the scenic route, then run back.