Napa Inline Transmission Filter?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: morris
i found pics of a cut open magnefine. heres the url. i hope i get this right. http://www.v6performance.net/forums/6g-p...ilter-pics.html

I might put the person who posted that in the near idiot class as the filter unscrews, no need to hack it apart. I and others have posted pictures of the Magnefine filter here. Its best to let it drain/dry out for a few days before taking pictures so the particles stand out more.

I did it! Had to brag a little as this is my first time changing the transmission fluid in my cobalt. I was a little scared of it because it does not have a dipstick. I've done all the previous car I have owned but they all had a dipstick. Not to bad. Dropped the pan, changed the filter, installed magnefine and filled with 7 quarts of maxlife. Checked the level at the plug and it was good to go.

So I went to Autozone today and picked up the 2210 filter thats mentioned in this thread. I just wanted to make sure this is the one everyone has since it doesnt look the same as the one on the Autozone web site. I know it does have a magnet for sure. The box says product of Mexico and the body says made in China and the numbers 1240 above that.

2210.jpeg

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Trav
The 2210 i bought from AZ a few months ago is metal. Maybe they changed suppliers, i need to go and look if so that sucks.
I want the metal one not the plastic leaker.
Two leaker's in a row is too many, i will never buy another Magnefine product again.

Agreed after two failures!

You're already adding a couple of failure points by simply cutting and splicing in this filter.

Originally Posted By: Donald