Wood treatment

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ive been eyeing the yellow can paste wax. I have wood furniture spray, it works great...just looking to take it up a notch.

What product would work well on wood furniture where some of the finish is gone (aka. Worn off)? Im a newbie sorta and want something that will protect unfinished/raw wood from rotting. Mainly for outside furniture, but wish it not to be toxic that California has a warning on it.

Our lumber yard suggested minwax when i went in to buy johnson's buff spray for wood floors. It seemed ok to the touch and may go withthat, but it did have some heavy warnings on the can.

Btw I do not wish to stain or paint or anything like that!

While no wax is a f ix for a worn thru finish, chances are the Carnuba wax you use on your car will be just as good. First off, what finish do you currently have on your piece?

I just spray Pledge and wipe it in every once in a while, then wipe with a damp cloth sometimes. This is what I do on my indoor furniture as well and I havent felt the need to search any further....til now. Now that I have indoor furniture under my carport,I want to do something more, but, I havent ventured into polyurethane at this time. Just like on my vehicles, I dont respray or corrective polish the, i just do the basics-wash, wax, clay etcetera.

I really like this outdoor desk/dresser, rain really never hits it, but dust, cobwebs and the various insects/creeping things of Mississippi do have a go at it sometimes.

Originally Posted By: OneEyeJack
+1 on the Pledge, works under the hood on your car, too.

^^Yep!! Like a charm.

I just picked up some Dutch Amish wood milk. I think they are all right! Do you think the Amish are really involved in the making of this product? I consider them Orthodoxy.

I tossed that bottle.