98 Caravan AWD.....low voltage only at idle

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been chasing this problem for the entire 5 years that I have owned it.

When I run several accessories at idle, the voltage drops. It doesn't matter what accessories are run, I just can't run more than a few at the same time.

If I rev the engine higher than 1500 rpm, I can get 13.8 VDC with all of the accessories running.

The voltage slowly drops from about 12.8 VDC down to the high 11 volt range with all of the accessories running.

This really concerns me since in this area a 60 mile commute is typical and can be bumper to bumper the whole way.

Things I have tried:

3 different alternators.
Cleaning and sanding numerous ground points.
2 different batteries
4 gauge wire from negative terminal to strut tower.
Bypassing the ECU based voltage regulator and installing an external regulator.
New serpentine belt and tensioner.
Fresh battery terminals.
Holding 4 gauge wire from negative battery terminal and connecting it to different parts of the chassis to see if voltage went up.

I really love this van and have resolved many of it's issues. I just can't figure this one out and neither can anyone on the caravan forums.

Any ideas?

Thanks

What accessories are you running and are they stock or aftermarket? Should the ECU be upping the idle with the extra electrical load? I know next to nothing about automotive electrical systems so I am just spitballing here.

Originally Posted By: NMBurb02
What accessories are you running and are they stock or aftermarket? Should the ECU be upping the idle with the extra electrical load? I know next to nothing about automotive electrical systems so I am just spitballing here.

Great questions. All stock.

A/C, headlight, and radio.

...but the same will happen with wipers, headlights, and radio etc.

Too much current draw and it's over.