Interesting Tap Experience

Status
Not open for further replies.
I picked up a Morse high speed steel cutting tap at the industrial supply today. The size is M8-1.25.
For some strange reason, when I spin an M8-1.25 nut on the tap, the nut will stop at the last 3 threads.

I tried this with two identical GM flange nuts and two identical Rockford flange nuts from NAPA and they all stop at the last 3 threads. Meanwhile, I experimented with a Vermont American hardware store tap in the size 3/8-24 and the nut spins all the way past the last 3 threads no problem.

May be slightly oversize to allow for starting the bolt; the bottom 3 threads on the tap would correspond to the first three threads in a tapped hole if you ran the tap all the way through until it bottomed.

+1. It seems to me that sometimes threads are tapped such that the first few threads are a bit larger to allow easier alignment. But maybe it's wear too, I'm no expert. But I have observed this in some cases.

What type of tap is it? Taper, plug, spiral point, etc? I've never seen taps with a different thread profile at the end and don't think such a tap would meet the standards for thread quality.

Different H number on the tap you bought than the one that cut the threads in the nut?

Also, when machine tapping, you'll notice that almost all wear on the tap is on the first few cutting edges. We typically don't bottom out taps when machine tapping (which the nut was certainly produced with

You might be onto something Johnny. I was going to take a picture, but this Amazon link with the rollover zoom probably shows it better than I can. The last 3 threads of the tap look look like they widen ever so slightly.