offroad motocross 4 stroke Big bore

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just bought a Honda CRF 450X, same top end as the 450R. This..and ive heard other 450's get hot. I'm going to run Synthetic 10w 40 in the engine side (CRF's are seperate engine/ tranny but use the same grade oil.)

The real question is ive heard/ read that sunthetic oils are too 'slippery' for wet clutch motor cycles. I sounds like " synthetics make your engine leak" nonsense but im new to these bikes. Any input is appreciated.

There's no truth to the clutch myth in regards to synthetics. Just use a motorcycle-specific oil and you'll be fine. Rosella 15w-40 would probably work too.

450X clutch same as 2 stroke clutch (separate from engine oil). You can pretty much run whatever you want. I normally use MD-3 ATF.

After market bigger radiators with fans? I see them on slow moving trail bikes. I would think proper radiator cooling is something I would look at and good dirt bike only synthetics.

Shrubitup yes, i used to use bel rey 80W transmission fluid in my 2 smoker, In my new bike honda specifically calls for 10w-40 , I just want to make sure I dont ruin anything by putting synthetic in the transmission side of the bike.

Originally Posted By: firegugg
Shrubitup yes, i used to use bel rey 80W transmission fluid in my 2 smoker, In my new bike honda specifically calls for 10w-40 , I just want to make sure I dont ruin anything by putting synthetic in the transmission side of the bike.

The manuals for KX CR YZ RM two smokes also call for 10W30 or 10W40 yet many use MTL or ATF... Same function on the CRF-R or CRF-X bikes.