Zerex Asian Coolant 50/50

Status
Not open for further replies.
Today, at a yard sale, I picked up 2, one Gallon Jugs of this coolant for $10.00

Since I've never used this 50/50 mix in before, would this fluid be safe to mix with the Toyota Red Coolant that I'm currently running in my 4Runner.

I plan to change out the original radiator for a Denso, exact fit model, this summer and wanted to try and find out if these fluids are compatible and safe to use in my 97 Toyota 4Runner, SR5. Thanks

Hopefully the jugs of coolant were sealed. If not then dispose of properly.

Why would you replace a radiator unless its leaking?

The jugs are sealed and in pristine shape.

I've had the original radiator in my vehicle for over 18 years and over 300K miles.
Preventative maintenance sometimes will save future headaches. I've had no leaks yet and replaced the upper, lower and heater hoses at 150K miles with OEM hoses.

Originally Posted By: Greasymechtech
It will work fine with either the red or pink.

Use it.

+1 The product sheet says it is compatible with all Asian coolants.

If you have always used a good coolant, there is no need to replace the radiator. The one in my BMW is 27 years old without leaks, and no signs of corrosion.

My 02 Camry came with red ff which I changed to pink when it came out...dealership said red and pink were NOT compatible. Since then I have been using Zerex Asian which is premix like Toyota pink..with no issues. If dealer is correct I auestion if Zerex is compatible with Toyota red.

Thanks for all the advice on using the Zerex Asian and leaving my radiator as is.....until needed.

I've been doing the drain and fills every 3 to 5 years with Toyota Red and have not identified any leaks. So, I'll leave the radiator as is until needed.

I do plan to install a remote transmission fluid cooler that I purchased and possibly a remote spin-on transmission filter before the hot fluid reaches the remote cooler.