Is this caliper salvageable?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm helping a friend with an old '79 CB650 that's having some issues with the front brakes locking up. I pulled off the front caliper and notice the there's a lot of crusty yellowish-brown build up around the boot. I can easily take the boot off. I pop out the piston and there's more crusty build up. It looks like there's some kind of corrosion on the caliper around the inner seal. The metal doesn't seem totally pitted, but it's pretty grungy. I used a pick and lightly scraped out some of the build up.

dqsk0y.jpg

This is my first time doing something like this, is the caliper toast? Can I clean it, get a new seal/boot and reinstall it?

If it's usable, any suggestions on cleaning?

Thanks for any comments!

Replace the caliper - in most cases rebuilt or even new calipers are available at reasonable cost.

Originally Posted By: Trav
The bore looks sketchy. As a rule i don't rebuild calipers on motorcycles, to me its not worth the risk.

I agree...the same reason I don't patch tires on bikes. If something goes wrong and the repair fails, the consequences are much worse on two wheels versus four.

Look around for a good used one or a rebuilt.

Thanks guys! I'll look for a replacement. I felt the same way, brakes aren't something I want to take any risks on.

Apparently the 1979-81 CB650s are kind of an odd bird, but I think I found that parts from a CX500 will fit. Off to the Bay I go.

Thanks again.

The piston is the sealing part. On a M/C without a second thought I would spend the $$$ for a new caliper. May as well change the Master cyl while the wallet is open . Brakes are important.

Oh yeah, master cylinder and new stainless brake lines are already ordered.