First thing you do when you buy a used car?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm getting a 2004 Acura TL from my sister. She says everything runs fine and nothing is wrong with it. No idea how many miles are on it but she's owned it for the last 6 years and no idea who owned it before that. I just want to be able to have peace of mind when I get it and was wondering if I should do anything to it? I'm no mechanic and would prefer not to do a major tune up but something like replacing spark plugs I can do! I'm going back to school so to keep the car until I graduate from college in 4 years would be nice with no car payments. I will miss my Juke
frown.gif

change the oil? Actually I'd think if someone is considering buying a car, take it for a ride and have the oil changed and maybe add a quart of MMO then see what oil pressure you have. It might provide the best estimation of the condition of the engine. Many sneak in motor honey to mask a worn engine.