Going to change my brakes for the first time

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: llmercll
Thanks for the responses everyone, I'm getting a better picture on what to do.

I'm getting mixed messages about the rotors though. Should I leave them, machine them, or buy new? I'm also trying to decide between OEM and Akobono pads.

I'm a student so cost is a factor, but not at the price of safety =/

Thanks

Unless the rotors are totally munched and rusty I'd leave them. Being a student on a budget sucks when it comes to car maintenance. If you plan on keeping the car a while it's worth it to buy quality parts, I've learned that when you buy cheap, you buy twice. Just some general advice. As a fellow broke college kid, it's worth it to save for a higher quality part when it comes to 'mission critical' safety items like brakes and suspension.
It was mentioned in another post to put up pictures when you have it apart so your fellow bitogers can chime in. Trav is the go to expert on car repair around here!

Originally Posted By: mattwithcats
Turn wheel in direction your working, left side, turn left...
Jack car, two jack stands underneath, remove wheel
Loosen bolts using 6 point socket, breaker and cheater.
Apply steady and slowly increasing pressure to loosen bolts.
Remove rest of way with ratchet.
Hang caliper on coil spring using coat hanger

Remove next two bolts. Remove rotor, and pads.
Note where chirp tab is, remove pads, clean pad holders with wire brush
New pads, new rotors install...
Use SlyGlide on back of pads.
Loosen brake fluid container top on car, wrap rag around container.
Push brake caliper piston back using piston tool.
Put caliper on pads, tighten and torque bolts.
Put antiseize on smooth parts of caliper pins
Tighten and torque.

Replace wheel, brake fluid cap. Tap brakes gently several times to seat pads.

Did I forget anything?