Oil for an air-cooled 911

Originally Posted By: Doug Hillary

Perhaps we've come a long way...................?

I hope so Doug! I think we were operation off a very low base though!

Just one question if you don't mind?

Why A3/B3 rather than A3/B4?

Thanks
Peter

PS: Pleased you saw the humour in my hypothetical and my attempt to "codify" the selection process.

Last edited:
Peter:

I think you are creating a straw man. I don't think I have said there is only one viscosity or brand that is best, nor do I think LN/Charles Navarro is saying that in his article (which i'm still not sure you've read).

I am not an expert in oil or engines, but I do read what the "experts" have to share with us laypeople (whether, Doug H., Charles, or Jake Raby of Flat 6). I have decided to follow the recommendation for higher ZDDP oil (regardless of brand) in a 5W40 full synthetic because of the rationale these experts have stated, which sounds logical to me. Further, Jake Raby/Flat 6 builds engines and re-builds blown engines and in the process he advised us that they measure for engine wear and test different oils, brands and weights.

You or the OP may read their recommendations and decide you simply don't need to follow their advice and continue to use Mobil 0W40, or any other brand and weight and I completely respect your decision to do so. But, you have not addressed the substance of their findings -- which is a 5W40 (in a watercooled) is better than a 0w40 for HTHS, and a higher ZDDP oil provides better protection (based on their own testing and engine build/tear down). Now, at the end of the day, I have no way of proving whether the next 75 or 100k on the clock will be better for following their recommendations, since -- I'm not tearing down my engine now or until it needs a rebuild.