Moving and need Direct TV/Dish Network Info

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone. The Bride and I are moving to a new to us cabin up in the North Georgia mountains as our final, retirement lodging. I plan on meeting my maker there.

We are going to have to use Direct TV, Dish Network or some other satellite service to get cable. I would not get it at all but the Bride is adamant we get something. We've always had cable and I'm not familiar with what I should look for. Can anyone offer some experiences with these services? Is any one any better than the other? Are there other alternatives to these two companies. Also, we are going to be stuck with DSL service for the internet. Any feedback on what to expect with DSL? Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Hey Sierra,

I work in the "industry" as they say and here is my reco.

First, shop on price. It sounds like you don't care if you have the fanciest, newest interface etc. If you a DVR and/or HD service, get the cheapest box that provides that. For example, do not get a Dish Hopper where you can get a 722 for HD/DVR. Not sure if Direct has a similar offering.

Secondly, they are similar in service in that they provide TV service, but **THE MOST IMPORTANT THING** is that you have a "good install". This means that you have an unobstructed line of sight to the satellites in the sky. Do not let your installer try to shoot signal between a couple trees, or some other weird thing. Hopefully, you can get line of sight from your roof or yard, without a tall post/pole.
If you are in a valley and can't see out, you will have service issues with either one, but might get ok signal.

One last detail, Dish and Direct have slightly different line of sight requirements - Dish is south and slightly west, whereas Direct is south and slightly east. This may be the key difference that makes one a better choice for your particular place.

Let me know if you have other questions or PM me.