Did I make a noob mistake?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Canuck - moved to —> California —> Texas —> ???
OK, for starters this is my second season of riding and first commuting, so I am a noob.
Anyways, last week while going back home there was another biker sitting on a red light and I pulled up beside him. In the past I had few riders that were total strangers to me pulled up beside me, so I thought it was fairly normal.
Mind you I pulled up fairly slowly and he saw me in his mirrors. However, before I even stopped, he started cussing at me (that's how I know he saw me).

He started yelling that we don't ride together and started dropping f-bombs. I told him that I don't plan riding with him, but having a full face helmet, I don't think he could hear me all that well. Before he got a chance to cuss at me some more, the light turned green, I let him go first and then we went our separate ways.

On the way home I started to think about this incident and I think that this guy had a fair point but his conduct was rather poor. He could've just as well ignore me, but then perhaps by being rude he was trying to teach me a lesson.

What do you guys think? Did I commit a big NO NO?

I don't feel comfortable pulling up along side (in the same lane)someone I don't know, but there was no reason for the guy to flip out on you.

was this a typical cruiser/harley guy VS a sport/[censored]/rocket? Ive had harley guys not wave back.

I rarely pull up completely next to someone, others have done to me and we've just nodded.

I dont think you did anything wrong, guy is just an idiot. I wouldn't swear at another person.

You did nothing wrong other than encounter an a-hole. People pull along side all the time, and at worst it's kinda like rinding an elevator with someone you don't know, just a little awkward, nothing more. I don't normally do it but no big deal.