Is Delo 400 LE 5W30 a good oil for every engine?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lots of folks recommending the T5 10w30 synthetic blend.

I have never used a "blend" oil before. Always kind of seemed like a gimmick to me. Either use synthetic or not. Maybe I was wrong and it is good?

Originally Posted By: Bdog
Lots of folks recommending the T5 10w30 synthetic blend.

I have never used a "blend" oil before. Always kind of seemed like a gimmick to me. Either use synthetic or not. Maybe I was wrong and it is good?

I have read that there is some benefit to how well the additives work in a blend. I don't know, but I had excellent results with Delo XLE 10W30 which is also a blend.

There must be a reason for mobil, shell and chevron offering these blends. They all have good reputations overall.

I think they add a "synthetic" base stock to get the cold
performance where they need it instead of using VIIs.
The term "semi-synthetic" must be incorrect.

Pick the cheapest dual rated HDEO 10W-30 and use it in everything. Forget what some of these Chicken Little, sky is falling types are saying.

You should also be looking at pails or drums not gallons. Buy from a distributer. Open an account with them.

I've been servicing equipment in the field for the construction industry as a second career for 13 years now. EVERYBODY, and I mean EVERYBODY, consolidates their oil. In SoCal where I cut my teeth, it was SAE 30/40 in everything, including hydraulic systems and Power Strokes. Here in snow-covered Michigan with the temperature in the teens, it's 15W-40 in everything, including gen sets, welders, pumps. A few cold crank issues aside, it works, so who am I to say anything? They do what every other owner does, buy based on price.