First time valve adjustment on Honda

Status
Not open for further replies.
2007 Honda Accord 2.4 has 165K on it. Valve train seems to be making more noise. I am not a mechanic but do my own brakes, plugs and other general maintenance. I've watched some youtube videos and did some other reading on adjusting valves and I think I can handle it. Anyone have any tips or suggestions before I attempt to tackle it?

I wussed out back in 2010 on my CR-V with the same engine and had my mechanic do it. It doesn't look hard but MAN if you overtighten them it's a bad scene.

I'm due again in 3k which will take me about 5 months more driving these days. Mine are REALLY noisy these days.

I would not do my first job on a DOHC VTEC.

MOST IMPORTANT. Engine must be STONE COLD, next day, never started, to adjust; OTW, you'll be too loose.

I did top end adj of race engines for many years in 70's and early 80's. I was the go-to guy.

If you are not comfortable with doing valve lash adjustments, then don't do it.

Any mistakes that you make may cause serious damage,i.e. you overtighten those valve lash locking nuts and then adjusting screw will snap into 2; and try getting a replacement while you are down (car grounded) from stealerships would be fun...serious fun.

Q.

Originally Posted By: ARCOgraphite
I would not do my first job on a DOHC VTEC.

MOST IMPORTANT. Engine must be STONE COLD, next day, never started, to adjust; OTW, you'll be too loose.

I did top end adj of race engines for many years in 70's and early 80's. I was the go-to guy.

Yep, cylinder head must be at 90 degrees or less temperature wise.

If it's anything like a 2008 CR-V (also a K24), it's not too bad. If you can find feeler gauges with angled tips, it works better. Otherwise, you'll have to bend a straight blade to reach into the gap. I had one slightly loose intake valve on the CR-V after 100,000 miles.