Cracks in tires, should I replace?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone. I'm a BITOG noob, but I've gotten great information from the forum for quite a few years. Since there are a lot of knowledgeable people here, I thought I'd finally register and hopefully get some advice on a particular issue I have.

Recently I was checking my tires over and noticed cracking right under the tread area above the sidewall on all four tires. I've done some reading and severity seems to be a case-by-case basis. One of the tires is a good bit worse than the others, but they all have some cracking. Looking at my picture below (shows the worst of the 4 tires), should I be concerned about possible tread separation? All four tires are 4 years old and have about 50,000 miles on them, but they still have 8/32 or more of tread, so I was hoping to not have to replace them if I don't have to. What do you guys think? Thanks in advance!

doesn't look more than superficial at the moment.
What tires? and what is the date code on the tires.

and most importantly do you like the tires?

Check with your local authorized tire dealer for your brand of tires. See what they say. There might be a warranty replacement if there's a problem.

Doing some checking might be worth the effort.

They're Uniroyal Tiger Paw Touring, made in the 33rd week of 2011. The tires seem decent to me, but I haven't driven the car (2006 Subaru Legacy wagon) with anything else since they were on the car when I bought it. They seem to grip well on dry roads and I haven't noticed any hydroplaning or other issues in the rain, but being all-seasons, they're just ok in the snow.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: user52165
We would surely like to know what tires still have 8/32 left after 50K?