09 Honda Fit Sport, new to changing my own oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm looking for suggestions for a good oil and any Honda Fit specific tips since I've never done it myself before. I also need a filter and a crush gasket. The manufacturer recommends SAE 5W20.

My driving habits are: at least one 2-3 hour trip on the highway each week, and really low key running errands around town. I live near San Diego so it's basically bone dry and up to 110 degrees in the summer, and never goes below freezing. Lots of hills because I'm in a mountainous region, not sure if this matters.

Can I get away with doing the change without ramps if I'm willing to be really uncomfortable?

Thanks!

I would go with a quality 0w20 or 5w20 and call it a day. Being that you live in SD, a 5w20 should be fine.

Ramps will help tremendously, I would invest in some. Makes the oil change much much easier.

I don't know the Fit's engine bay well, but that might just be a matter of if it's even possible for you to get to the drain bolt and oil filter without some kind of lifting assistance. Give it a try, maybe you can. One thing to note, if you do end up jacking up the car a little, don't do it and get under the car without jack stands.

As for oil selection, I would say that any nationally branded 5W-20 or 0W-20 would be fine (I say nationally branded referring to anything you can get at Walmart, even Supertech, I would avoid anything obscure you find at a gas station or corner store). For your climate, it will make little difference. Now as for conventional vs synthetic, this is more a matter of how long you want to run between oil changes. If you're going to stick with the Maintenance Minder (I think the 09 Fit has one), then a conventional would be perfectly fine. The real benefit of synthetic (at least for you where cold temps aren't a concern), is that you should be able to run a much longer interval between changes.

Video to get you started: