Used Police Cars- A good choice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd pass. I have some experience with this. Now, if it's life was spent as an assigned take-home then it will have been treated "better" at least with regard to cold start and go, i.e. the line cars / fleet units often skip a shift or two and then whoever gets handed that unit's keys fires it up cold and stomps it from rpm #1 in 20 deg temps. One example of line car abuse. The take-homes not so much. But there is no way to know the car's history on whatever dept, they all get surplussed to a liquidator or auctioned by the state/county/city etc.

Our dept squeezes the very last drop of blood from the cars before surplussing and then they might even go to another city dept like dept of public works as a fleet beater before the city finally surplusses them.

However, some departments adhere to a 2 or 3 year turn over in order to get some residual value out of the car and not just donate a squeeze-dried husk out to the world. Those would be the ones to get, but realize they've probably lived a tough life as already described.

Originally Posted By: Joe_Power
On a similar note, I bought a car at a police auction. Had it for a couple months. There was a rattle in the headliner. Took it down, and there was a makeshift compartment, with a couple ounces of coke, and a .32 pistol. Yep. You guessed it. Ex drug dealers car

Now THAT is good marketing. Here I'm told you have to haggle to get floor mats.

Originally Posted By: BRZED
The blood, vomit and poop stains wash right off the seats. Car's probably not been babied while chasing down perps. I'd pass.

The OP could look for a K9 unit - they're easily identifiable because (at least here in California) they have heavily tinted rear windows.

The back seats should be in great shape because they were immediately replaced with a one-piece insert for the dog - https://www.rayallen.com/category/K-9-Transport