15w40 Oil Choices For 2011 Ram 3500 6.7 Cummins

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looking for some opinions. I used to own a 2002 Powerstroke 7.3 diesel, in the past, great truck. I now have a 2011 Ram 3500 with the 6.7 Cummins, purchased recently with 15,300 miles on it. For my next oil change I am leaning toward the Valvoline Blue mainly because it is endorsed by Cummins. In the past, with the 7.3 Powerstroke, I have used the Motorcraft oil, Rotella and Delo which are all good oils. If I choose the Valvoline Blue, this will be my first time using it. Does the Valvoline Blue fare any better or worse than all the other brands?

Thanks

Use it, it will work fine. BTW, I'm a UPS diesel/CNG semi mechanic. I also work on the yard shifter trucks. The spotter trucks use a detuned version of the 5.9 or 6.7 Cummins depending on the year. Those trucks go about 25-30K hours before needing an overhaul when doing 250 hour OCI's.

I have the same truck , 2011 3500 with 51k.
I run the T6 year around & regular cummins filter, I have done 4 round trips ( 5k ) from south Texas to New York. Never had a problem. The oil gets a wide range of temps, -10 to 100+. .
I know the valvoline blue is fine oil but not always easy to find, and good ole WM always has T6, good luck and enjoy your new ride.
Hope this helps.
Ps, don't forget the one and only grease fitting , located on the front drive shaft ( 4x4 ) only, if not have fun locating it 😀

Last edited:
15W becomes too thick in temperatures below 20 Fahrenheit. If your truck is going to see winter temperatures in Maryland, you might want a 5W such as T6, or better yet a 0W such as the new Castrol 0W-40, or Mobile one 0W-40.

Originally Posted By: JimPghPA
15W becomes too thick in temperatures below 20 Fahrenheit. If your truck is going to see winter temperatures in Maryland, you might want a 5W such as T6, or better yet a 0W such as the new Castrol 0W-40, or Mobile one 0W-40.

From the owners manual:
9DWEdh7.png

As well: