M1 question 2013 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using Mobil 1 in my trucks for 30 yrs. My 2013 Toyota FJ Cruiser (Purchased New) has been using 0-20 since day 1. I went to Mobil site and see they now also recommend 0-30 for my engine. Would this be better for my Arizona engine? It now has 46,000 miles. No issues.

As far as I knew, Toyota has always recommended XW/30 in the 4.0 truck motor. What does your manual (And the oil fill cap) have to say?

Anyway, I have been using 0W/30 and 5W/30 Mobil 1 in my '05 Tacoma for over 100k miles, since new. It is the same basic motor, though I believe they pounded a few more horses into yours. Over half of those miles have been towing a travel trailer. I would not use anything else.

Toyota went to 0w20 across the board in almost all of their vehicles. My 4runner 4.0L ran better on a 30w (quieter) so for me I would go to the 30w. But the 20w is fine.

My old Tundra with the 5.7 V8 was spec'ed for 0w-5w/20, but it was much quieter with 0w-5w/30. Many people believe that this should be a preferable oil particularly in the south. My truck loved the GC 0w-30.

Based on my personal testing, M1 0w30 is a very light 30w, and shears down to a 20w after use.. If you live in AZ and rarely see temps below 10-20 degrees, I would use a 5w20 or 5w30. M1 0w30 shuld be fine as well.

Originally Posted By: 4wheeldog
As far as I knew, Toyota has always recommended XW/30 in the 4.0 truck motor. What does your manual (And the oil fill cap) have to say?

Anyway, I have been using 0W/30 and 5W/30 Mobil 1 in my '05 Tacoma for over 100k miles, since new. It is the same basic motor, though I believe they pounded a few more horses into yours. Over half of those miles have been towing a travel trailer. I would not use anything else.

Perhaps for the older models, but just for clarification purposes for other readers, I'll add my moms 2015 4runner TRD calls for a 0w20.