Oil recommendation for Chevy LS7 454 crate engine?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My friend has one of these installed in his 1970 Chevy Nova SS. It has a pretty big solid lifter cam, 850 double-pump Holley, rectangular port heads and 12.5 to 1 compression. He is currently running Brad Penn Penn Grade 1 oil in it. Just looking for thoughts on brand and weight of oil to run. Thanks!

What does GM recommend for it? I assume it would have come with a sheet that stated what should be used?

15w-40 , 20W-50, 15w-50. I have some big block experience over the years. Let the oil get to operating temps before really hammering it and the engine will be happy. That engine with a good exhaust should have some get up and Go. Back in the 1970 I had a 402 big block with the same heads and comp ratio and that engine would turn 7,500 and it lasted a long time in a flat bottom drag boat. It came out of a buds 1970s Chevelle . It was a bit radical for his needs so I bought it and was happy with the deal. Have to add a 6 qt oil pan is good ,in my boats I would run a 14 qt pan when running as sustained high rpms there is lots of oil pumped into top eng.The how to hot rod big block Chevrolet engines are great reference books. The builders and tuners have them down to a science.

An after thought I can't see the advantage of a syn oil in this engine unless it will be endurance raced or road raced . You probably won't be able to hold WOT for very long . The engine is that powerful. The oil should be changed often due to potential fuel dilution. I love Chev big blocks.

winter 5w-40 Synthetic
summer 15w-40 dino
Have an extra quart with you, it's going to use a little oil, and it's ok if it does. Nature of the beast.

Actually, this is an easy one.

Mobil 1, 5W-40 Turbo Diesel Truck in cool weather.
Mobil 1, 15W-50 in warmer weather.