Loaner vehicle mishap

Status
Not open for further replies.
3/4 of my fleet is manual and I've done the same once or twice after not driving the Sonata for a while. Fortunately, it's been at lower speeds, but I've still locked up the brakes by catching the pedal with enough force to release the clutch that I think I'm trying to use.
grin.gif

Originally Posted By: dja4260
I drive a manual trans car. My loaner 2015 Elantra is automatic. Today after a 25 mile drive on the highway I signaled and moved over to the exit lane of the highway. I was going about 65 mph. I then pressed the imaginary clutch with force to coast it in neutral. When I pressed the imaginary clutch, I pressed the brakes. I LOCKED them up, water bottle with missing cap, and belongings went flying. I almost went through the steering column. Thank god no one was behind or someone could have been injured.

I've never done that before.

Maybe it's time to give up the keys and get a bus pass, genius.

Just kidding, I reach for the clutch on automatics too.

My daily driver has been automatic for at least 3+ years. I still occasionally end up reaching for clutch in the automatic.

[/quote] Coasting in neutral is less acceptable than leaving it in 4th or 5th until you NEED to downshift. Every little bit of engine braking means less break wear and one less clutch application. [/quote]

Coasting to a red right isn't acceptable? Regardless, the clutch will be used once. I typically coast when approaching a red light attempting to not brake. (not break)

Coasting in neutral is less acceptable than leaving it in 4th or 5th until you NEED to downshift. Every little bit of engine braking means less break wear and one less clutch application. [/quote]

Coasting to a red right isn't acceptable? Regardless, the clutch will be used once. I typically coast when approaching a red light attempting to not brake. (not break)

[/quote] That's what I usually do too.