Loaner vehicle mishap

Status
Not open for further replies.
I drive a manual trans car. My loaner 2015 Elantra is automatic. Today after a 25 mile drive on the highway I signaled and moved over to the exit lane of the highway. I was going about 65 mph. I then pressed the imaginary clutch with force to coast it in neutral. When I pressed the imaginary clutch, I pressed the brakes. I LOCKED them up, water bottle with missing cap, and belongings went flying. I almost went through the steering column. Thank god no one was behind or someone could have been injured.

I've never done that before.

LOL! I remember this happened to me once or twice, when I first experienced driving an automatic.
smile.gif

Glad you're ok.

I remember back in 1995, my parents were one of the first people to buy a TJ Wrangler.

6 months later, we didn't hear anything back from the dealer. We inquired about it and turns out the salesman forgot to place the order and then left the dealer.

The owner of the dealer didn't think that was acceptable. He gave us a practically brand new Ford Tempo to use until the TJ came in. Quite a back up, too, as the new coil-sprung wrangler was pretty popular.

We went quite a while with just my mom driving it. One day, we were going somewhere and had to stop at the post office.

When leaving the post office, my father could not get the thing out of park. We tried everything and it wouldn't get out of park. We managed to get in touch with one of the mechanics at the dealer (they were closed - got a home number). Well they tried to diagnose it over the phone. My father just figured that the parking prawl was broken.

And then ...

"Did you press the brake?"

By that point, it had been 4 or 5 years since my father had drove an automatic transmission vehicle. The only automatic transmission vehicle he owned was a '78 Toronado.

That was embarrassing for him.