Any Clay shooters here ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
if so what is your sport and favorite tool ?

In the 80's early 90's I was very serious in Sporting Clays & Skeet and some trap. Back in those days I was one of the top shooters in Michigan, an injury forced retirement. I used an 870 tricked out by Kerry Allor who ran the show @MagnaPort, he's on his own now @Barrel Works.

Just started back up (off for 20 yrs) and now use Beretta's ugly blue gun. I love Sporting & 5 stand.

Last edited:
I have shot some trap. Used a Remmy 1100, a Browning "light twelve" A5, and a Lanber 0/U. Always like the old humpback the best out of them all.

In the 80's I was a range officer at a large outdoor shooting range. I mostly handled the shotgun sport side of things. And I often shot with some of the competetive shooters. I used an 870 as well. But people used to bring everything out there under the sun. My favorites were the krieghoffs and perazzis. There was even a guy who would come shoot with a Krieghoff K80 exhibition model(think mid 5 figures in the 80's). The most popular ones were the Browning citoris, undoubtedly. If I were to get back into it today I would look at the Ruger red label O/U or a remington 11-87 as I've found that is what fits me the best. The most important thing is to find a shotgun that fits you dimensionally and is comfortable.

I shoot some trap. With any luck if the weather stays warm I'll be going in the next 2-3 weeks again.

Going to pat myself on the back.
smile.gif
I showed up at a local gun range with a Mossberg 500 with a full choke and was smoking clays with it.

A few of the more frenly guys said it had been a long time since someone had done that well with a $150 pump gun from Walmart.

I'm even worse at it than I am at basketball.