I hate working on my Chev Venture...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: AdRock
As a tech I can say that there are tons of vehicles that are a major pain to work on. Volkswagons, Bmw's, and Jags come to mind. I can't tell you how many times I've wanted to visit a manufacturer to beat the carp out of an engineer. If there's a part on an engine that is the most prone to needing replaced you can bet that some moron engineer buried it so that you have to pull half the engine apart to get to it.
My hat is off to you techs that are making a living working on modern vehicles.. I know it can be a very tough way to make a buck..

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Chris142
That price is way high. I charge 3 hrs labor...$261. A new rad about $160,a few more for clamps and coolant.those are not too bad.I'm sure that I can beat the 3 hrs if I'm not bothered. The thermostat is much more frustrating than doing the rad.
'
Figure bout $450 if I did one.

I was told by the shop that it was a 6 hour job!! For $450 I would have been more than fine having you do it../

Originally Posted By: fdcg27
FWD transverse V-6s tend to be a PITA to work on.
Minivans tend to be a PITA to work on.
Combine the two in one vehicle and you have an RPITA.
At least you got the job done and saved yourself a good bit of coin.
WRT the Aerostar demarpaint mentions, not changing the passenger's side rear spark plug was a little trick a lot of shops used. We also had an Aerostar and changing the plugs was a real challenge that would have you searching through your tools for that one magic wrench that would let you finish the job.
Problem is that there is no such wrench.

That's the plug! I took a hole saw, and actually drilled through the floor/firewall just below the dog house and made a nice little access port to get the plug out. What a PITA working on the Aerostar was.