Furnace question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have recirculating hot water for heat. There is an expansion tank and an automatic air vent above it. I am getting a slow leak of water from it. Like a drip once in a while. I put a small tin under it, and keep an eye on it, figuring it would go into summer and get fixed when I have the system cleaned. Well I just looked and there is more water all of a sudden. Guess I put it off too long. I plan to go away for the weekend; anything I should do, so I don't come home to a flooded basement? I do not think I can replace these parts (both are bad), and I doubt the biz that I use for service can get to it this week (but I plan to call tomorrow).

You either have to replace the fittings or dissasemble them and re tape and install. If it's a crack in the tank out will have to be welded or replaced. a pic would be nice cause you are not very specific. Im a maintenance tech for a bunch of apartments that have huge Boiler systems and they are pretty much the same as your setups.

Shut down the boiler and the water supply to the expansion tank that supplies it with water.
There should also be valves to isolate the boiler from the distribution piping, so close them as well.
There should then be no worries about more than minimal leakage.
When you return, just open all of the valves, since in NH you'll probably still need heat.
Fix everything over the coming summer.

you could preemptively drain the system. I do that but my hot water system is plumbed into mains so it makes it really easy. if you did that it would also save a step for the tech who has to come out. mine has a standard hose fitting so all I do is hook a garden hose to it run it into my Mud sink open the valve and crack open the highest fitting on my radiator. if your system is anything like mine you might have to go and buy a special key

The technical term for it is boiler not furnace.