Oil color was a dark red color

Status
Not open for further replies.
quote:

Originally posted by mf150:
I'm not a chemical engineer, but I don't buy that. I'm thinking it's tranny fluid. Never seen RED motor oil, even the break-in stuff isn't red.

I know for a fact from the customer it's not tranny fluid and it's not synthetic ethier.

quote:

Originally posted by Oil stain:

quote:

Originally posted by mf150:
I'm not a chemical engineer, but I don't buy that. I'm thinking it's tranny fluid. Never seen RED motor oil, even the break-in stuff isn't red.

I know for a fact from the customer it's not tranny fluid and it's not synthetic ethier.

Maybe it's whale blubber that's been refined so that it can lubricate their engines.

My wife's 4.0 using Delvac 1 has a "dark cherry honey" appearance to it. It's translucent, but dark. I assume that it has to do with the fuel we use and the extended OCI that we employ (currently 12+k) since this doesn't occur in my son's 4.0 in his Cherokee.

Now I have, in the past, seen oils that were almost opaque with red color that actually evidenced a "stain". Almost like liquid "Rustolium" or some other "metal oxide" primer. This was rare however and I never got to follow up on the cause (ancient gas jockey days) since no long term relationship with the vehicle was possible.

Back in the early 70's I was a kid in college and was running a Studebaker Hawk. I was working part time at a Chevron station. Back then, oil came in cans with cardboard sides, tin top and bottom. Their top oil came in a gold can, I think it was a 10-40. The next one down was silver. The first time I used it I panicked. It was cherry red like tranny fluid. I called the Chevron headquarters and told them they mislabled tranny fluid and we had cases of it. They called back and said that was the color of it. They must have gotten other complaints, because about a year later they changed it. Boy, I miss my Studebakers.