Had the most fun on 2 wheels in a long time

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been riding motorcycles for 25 years and rode a fast scooter last weekend for the first time. It was a used Vespa GTS 300. It was a real blast twisting the throttle and zooming off without having to peg the shifter up and down several times to go 400 feet. The slow speed manouverbilty and ease of handling was much better than the last bike I had. The owner ended up selling the scooter for more than I was willing to pay for it. I'm in the market for a used or new scooter that can go fast but isin't Chinese junk.

I cannot explain it. It is WAY too much fun.

I can ride a proper motorcycle. I've even raced. There's no reason that I should ever like these rubber band drive things, but I have fallen for them.

It's just too easy. On my Helix, you step on the brake pedal, mash the starter button, twist the throttle and go. It's as long as an Electra Glide but you would never guess that based on the way it moves in low speed traffic.

The GTS300 is an awesome machine. Unfortunately, it is priced WAY above a steel tube framed/plastic body machine. It's like $700 more than the bigger Piaggio BV350. $1000 more than the similar size/performance Honda Forza.

I bought a 2010 Vespa GTS300 for a steal. 1000mi on it. Unfortuneately its been sitting in the garage tarped. I still like the bigger bike. But this thread makes me wanna break it out and go for a rip, once it warms up of course.

I ride my mower more then the Harley,,,something wrong with that picture...like a boat owner, there are more boats full of furniture in garages across the USA then on the lake,,,and more exercise equipment used for drying clothes, bow flex makes the best clotheslines in the USA.

Originally Posted By: Spazdog
I cannot explain it. It is WAY too much fun.

I can ride a proper motorcycle. I've even raced. There's no reason that I should ever like these rubber band drive things, but I have fallen for them.