2006 Milan (early service)

Status
Not open for further replies.
So fellas, I decided to keep the Milan I was considering selling last summer, Its been my D.D. since then, We bought the car from a retired gent who had only managed to put 21,000 on it from 2006-2011. We have since ran it up to 44,000 now. This brings up my OCD with car care and my compulsions to change everything early. I have the Milan on a steady OCI of 7,500 miles.. ive also changed the air filter and put some fresh tires on her.. that's it.. cars a dream.

So, the transmission, no problems, However I usually change the fluid on everything I own at 30,000 miles. Ford states on this car it needs done at 150,000 at a charge of $250.00 I know Im not a Ford engineer, but that just seems very long to me.. I don't see me letting it go that far. I have not decided just how long I will keep it, but likely it will be at least 5 years or 100,000- 130,000 miles. yes its the 3.0 with the non problematic automatic transmission.

If you owned it... ?

I'd change the ATF/filter anytime from now to 50K. ATF fluid is cheap....transmissions are not.

My Fusion(same as the Milan)has the 4 cyl engine with 151K. I do change the trans fluid at about 30K and the engine oil every 10K. Both still perform like new. The Fusion has been one of the best cars I have owned. We have driven it to Florida 15 times with another trip planed in 3 weeks. Also one trip to Maine. I hope to see well over 200K before retiring it.

On very low mileage cars, change things based on years, not mileage. I would do drain and fills on that transmission starting immediately.

im seeing a trend.. so the better question on this car (ive honestly not looked) is it a filter in pan (pan drop) ordeal ? Or is this a pump it out, pour it in ? somebody clue me in as I will change it soon.