What Struts to buy? Gabriel? Monroe? KYB?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looking at quick strut options for my Dodge Caravan family hauler. The mentioned three brands have rebates going on now. Gabriel and KYB are about the same price while Monroe would be about $60 bucks less.

What are your Suggestions? Opinions? Experiences?

I personally go with KYB and have never been dissatisfied. They've always given a very good ride and I have not run into any problems with longevity.

edit: I have no experience with their quick struts only with their bare struts and shocks. I always rebuild the strut using the old spring and mount as they've been in good shape still when I have had to do it.

Last edited:
I was impressed with the KYBs I bought for my Subaru. Not so much with the Monroes for my wife's Corolla.

I just saw that KYB rebate the other day. I'm almost tempted to replace the Corolla's Monroes with KYBs and Craigslist them or something.

I have Monroe shocks and struts on my Equinox and they are nice. I have their reflex truck shocks. Good handling and still maintains a good ride. I know their quickstruts have a lifetime warranty as does Gabriel. Not sure about KYBs

Originally Posted By: Bgallagher
I have Monroe shocks and struts on my Equinox and they are nice. I have their reflex truck shocks. Good handling and still maintains a good ride. I know their quickstruts have a lifetime warranty as does Gabriel. Not sure about KYBs

I put the same on my 2007 Tahoe. Satisfied after 5,000 miles.

I put Monroe Sensatrac quick struts on my 94 Plymouth GV 2 years ago. Work well, not problems. On the 2000 GC I used Raybestos pro quick struts. (on sale @ rockauto). They are doing fine.

Any of the three will be fine, but my choice would be KYB. I've used Gabriel with no problems as well. No experience with Monroe.