Local solar farm

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Shannow
Long as the only person that you fry is a member of your own family, all OK with me.

Yea, Maybe you can electrocute some poor animals with solar cells to prove how dangerous green power is, like Edison did with AC.

Originally Posted By: turtlevette
Long as the only person that you fry is a member of your own family, all OK with me.

Yea, Maybe you can electrocute some poor animals with solar cells to prove how dangerous green power is, like Edison did with AC.

Grow up turtle...the proponent is backfeeding his house, using wall plugs.

Electricians and emergency services personnel are expecting to have an infeed from the grid, or a dirty great big red solar Isolator (with the OC voltage and max current) when they attend a situation, not some system plugged into a wall socket and backfeeding.

It's on the wrong side of any RCD.

As an Electrical Engineer, I'm surpised that you endorse systems like this...but you are, so go figure.

Piece by piece...

All of OZ can be considered an electrical island. It's all relative. You're whole system is puny compared to here. If we ever got 1 hz below 60 it'd be because the zombie apocalypse. The big boys have spinning reserve, ie a GT or other plant that is connected but generating almost nothing so there is no multi minute lag.

If that's the case, then your (made up) problems with coal would be exaccerbated, not made easier.

And if your premise of spinning, unloaded GTs in readiness were true, they'd obviously be there and spinning in Oz...because out island is that much worse, isn't it ?...

...and they aren't.

and the 2Hz band that I quoted is the "must stay in and loaded range", for the grid to still be there...haven't seen a 10th of a Hz the last two years I've been looking.