Want to use MMO to clean neglected engine.Confused

Status
Not open for further replies.
He used the same method with other chemicals which were supposedly designed specifically to work with aluminium and MMO resulted in lot better results.

Originally Posted By: Vikas
He used the same method with other chemicals which were supposedly designed specifically to work with aluminium and MMO resulted in lot better results.

Probably the oil in it makes it "shinier". As I said, the real polishing action is from the abrasive. I welcome you to try it out. I've got a lot of experience with both polishing/cleaning aluminum as well as scotchbrite pads.

You want to really clean aluminum, a paste cleaner with a wheel will make it shine like chrome. A light goings over with a scotchbrite beforehand (careful not to remove too much material) on a drill preps the surface if it is heavily oxidized.

The great part about the pastes is they also contain a wax usually, so the surface stays polished a lot longer than just using a spray on cleaner (most of which are designed to clean coated wheels, so not actually designed to clean aluminum, but clear coat).

Well I have used oven cleaner before to clean oil spots on the floor of my garage, and it is very good for that! Picked that hint up from one of those who knew books.

The thing with the oven cleaners is that they can be extremely corrosive, the one i use has lye in it and produces quite the fume. My wife was cleaning the oven one time and got just a little drop above her rubber gloves and it burned the skin! but i digress...

If i were restoring old auto parts, i would likely try the less corrosive type cleaners first myself. jmo.

Last edited:
Since MMO is not much of a lubricant, you don't want to be using it with a noisy chain. I assume the VQ is an interference engine.