Sometimes I wonder about my results...

Status
Not open for further replies.
As many of you know, I write about used cars for a living. One of my recent projects has been this study on the long-term quality of used cars.

http://tradeinqualityindex.com/

In a perfect world where everyone maintains their cars to OEM specs, this type of study would probably have limited relevance. Nearly any powertrain these days can be maintained past 200,000 miles. Most folks out there don't even bother keeping a vehicle that long.

What concerns me right now is that I'm starting to see some major issues with vehicles have CVT transmissions. I knew it would be an issue early on given that several of the CVT equipped models that were belt driven during the mid-2000s were downright horrific in terms of reliability.

But over the past year and change I have been seeing some new ripples in the data. CVTs that aren't designed for periodic maintenance are failing like locusts stuck in the Sahara. I can write a tome on all the defective transmissions I have seen over the years as an auctioneer and car dealer. But what concerns me now is that we seem to be lowly sliding backward into an era where vehicles are intentionally designed for an early onset of planned obsolescence.

What are your thoughts? I really wouldn't mind some brainstorming on this. Hope all is well out there, and thanks for reading this meandering thought at one of the few places I know that can withstand it without devolving into a flaming death spiral.

All the best!

Steve Lang

I like to keep my wife in a new vehicle. I lease. CVT fails, they fix it on their dime. Lease is up, trade it in, old trans not my problem. Begin anew.

Me? I drive an older vehicle and maintain it myself. Works well for me.