Proper weight for gas inverter generator

Status
Not open for further replies.
A bit puzzled as to what to do with my new inverter generator.

I'm a farmer, and go through the expected "plenty" of oil. I have standardized on two oils at the farm:
- Walmart Tune-it (Super tech) 5W-30 for gas
- Rotella 15W-40 for diesel
I also run 0W-40 synth in my winter feeding/snowplow tractor, but it's special.

The genset is a little 3500W 150cc model with an air-cooled Chinese motor. Manual wants straight 30W or 10W-30 but motor is stamped 15W-30.
The 15W is throwing me for a loop as I only ever see it on diesel oils.

It's a backup which may have to run in temps anywhere from -30C - +30C. However, it's stored indoors for easy starting in winter.

I threw 5W-30 in to get going as it's still cold out but am wondering if the 15W-40 is better. Definitely better oil. But is it too thick to splash well? And will it be a bear if my wife has to start it?

As an inverter most hours will be spent at idle or near it with occasional bursts of full throttle to start a motor. Plan to do weekly test runs as well as sometimes use it with my pancake compressor for nailing.

The 15w40 will do the trick and splash lube fine especially if started inside. Ideally if it's calling for a straight 30 or 10w30 you might use a synthetic 10w30 or 5w30. Mobil 1 High Mileage 10W30 is ideal.

Synthetic diesel 5w40 or European spec 0w40 would also do the trick.

I would not use a mineral based 5w30 in that engine though in the summer it could shear too low. A mineral 10w30 is much more acceptable imho.

I would run a full synthetic 5W-30 or 10W-30...

First number is viscosity when cold, second is viscosity when hot.

Last edited:
Thanks guys, I will change to 15W-40 come summer time.
I like the full synth idea but didn't want to until it is broken in. Not sure how many hours for a unit like this.