Oil filter wrenches

Status
Not open for further replies.
What is the general consensus on using an oil filter wrench? I have used one every OCI the entire time I have been working on cars. We always felt that it was better to be a little to tight than too loose. I know that every manufacturer says to stop at the quarter turn, but does anyone really do that? Could there be any harm associated with overtightening a filter?
confused.gif

The only real harm is that the person that changes the filter after you will have some real nice things to say about you and your work lol.

Yes. Most oil filter leaks that I have seen come from either under tightening or over tightening.

Last edited:
I snug it by hand and then use a wrench to give it an additional 1/4 to 3/8 of a turn. I have been doing this since 1978 with no problems---YMMV!

Originally Posted By: qdeezie
The only real harm is that the person that changes the filter after you will have some real nice things to say about you and your work lol.

Im the only one who does it, so there arent many bad things to say about the "last guy"
grin.gif

Originally Posted By: tig1
Yes. Most oil filter leaks that I have seen come from either under tightening or over tightening.

If I saw an oil leak in any of my vehicles I would have a coronary. Luckily I have never had that problem. I could see a leak from under tightening, but why from over tightening?

Overtightening kinks the gasket. If you get really excited it's possible to strip threads and/or pull the threaded rod out when you try to remove the filter.

I work at a shop and I've never had the need to tighten them down with a filter wrench. Truth be told I put my filters on looser than most of my co workers.. I've never had to grab a wrench to take the filter off a car I did. And I've never had a leak either. It's a rubber gasket, doesn't take much to seal.

Last edited:
I've never tightened with anything more than my hand. I'm a little guy but strong. No leaks.