Flushing GM 6.2L

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a GM 6.2L with about 107k miles & I'm needed to do all of the 100k mile mark maintenance.I have a few questions.

1. What's the radiator capacity?
2. Is flushing with distilled water ideal?*

*Where I am renting, the water is not suitable to drink (long story) & there's not only high sulfur, but debris. I feel I should just buy water at Walmart to circumvent any issues.

3. I live on the Gulf coast, so I believe any freeze temps are gone until Nov/Dec. Should I just fill half w/ Dex-Cool 50/50 & the rest w/ distilled water or just go 100% 50/50 mix?

This is my first time flushing out the radiator, so I'd rather get it right than to cause damage.

Last edited:
If the water is that bad then yes get water from Walmart and use that. Flush it until is runs clear and then go back with the 50/50 mix. You need to keep it at that ratio for protection against freezing as well as to keep corrosion down.

What year GM? I would say it takes 17qts total for the cooling system.

Thanks guys.

It's a 2009 H2. I just searched again & found it. 16.7qt. Right on the money, Rat407! The SUT (truck version) holds less, which is weird!

I figured 100% 50/50 would work no matter what.

One other quick question.
To flush the rad, is something like Prestone flush & cleaner a good product or is there something better you guys recommend?

I would flush with distilled water following this basic process:

1. Drain the radiator (whether that can be done via petcock or detaching lower radiator hose) and then close it back up
2. Refill with distilled water
3. Run engine for a few minutes
4. Drain the radiator and close it back up
5. Follow steps 2 to 4 until what is draining is clear (probably 3 to 4 drain and fills)
6. Add concentrated (not 50/50) coolant at 50% of the cooling system capacity (so about 8.5 quarts in your case)
7. Top off with distilled water