what filter for a 10k+ OCI?

Status
Not open for further replies.
08 scion tC (2AZ-FE engine)

I have your usual Fram that was free with Oil change, but I'm putting in some 0w20 Mobil 1 Advanced Fuel economy so I'd prefer a better filter that's worth the oil it's filtering.

My goto filter is the Purolator PL14477 but the Advanced Auto Parts is not within walking distance. I forgot to get the filter before I drained so I'm stuck with what AutoZone and O'Reilly carry
eek.gif

Last edited:
I think an OCOD will go for 10K, but that is really pushing it & do not do so twice. Do not go past 10K with that filter.

If it is a Tough Guard or better, do not be concerned.

I use MC filters in both Fords with M1 0-20 at 10K OCIs. I have been doing 10K OCIs since 1978 with M1 oils, so I have a lot of experience doing this. At present both engines are very clean, and perform well.

Originally Posted By: KW
Oreilly's has Wix filters, I often use them for 10,000 miles.

all the wix filters I get have super small medias in them compared to the equivalent in another brand. I'd go fram. Not orange can but anything higher. Orange can might do it but for 2$ more.

Originally Posted By: rancur3p1c
which has superior smaller-particle filtration? Purolator is 99.9% of 10-micron

This information is not true, I believe they are 99.9% at 30 microns which is not awesome, the industry standard test is tested using 20 micron standards which it will not be 99.9% at.

The Fram Ultra is 99%+ @20 microns, the tough guard is 99%@20 microns. Fram Ultra is also 80% @5 microns which is awesome.

Wix XP/Napa Platinum is 50% efficient at 20 microns.

NAPA Gold or regular Wix are higher than Platinum with 95%@20 microns just like the Fram orange can extra guards

If you want top of the line filters look for the Fram Ultra or Mobil 1 filter. The Mobil 1 is at least 95% @20 microns iirc.