Nylon timing gears ? still in use ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Long ago late 70's I worked as a mechanic. Back then a lot of engines had nylon cam timing gear teeth from the factory (was meant to have less noise). Most all replacement cam gears were steel.
Since a lot of newer engines are going back to timing chains, are the manufactures using the nylon gears ?
The nylon cam gears would loose the teeth, and of course the timing would jump.

Last edited:
It's a cheap alternative when the camshaft is in the block.

Now that pretty much every engine is overhead cam, it's not such a cost effective alternative.

Nylon toothed (or even nylon coated metal sprockets) went out of fashion after the 70s, mainly due to reliability and longevity issues.

Pretty much everyone went back to using metal-to-metal configuration RE: cam/crank sprockets and timing chains. No one want to deal with the nylon coated designs anymore.

Q.

I haven't seen any since I went to Auto Tech school 12 years ago. The old timers in the engine rebuilding class kept a SBC on a stand to show us whipper snappers what they used to have to deal with.

I had an 1988 club wagon with a 300ci 6cyl. It had fiber timing gears as OEM equipment. I had them replaced with metal ones during some maintenance procedure. The metal ones made a singing noise at idle that the fiber ones didn't. at tleast the metal ones didn't self destruct.

Its been a LONG time (early 80s) since I've seen a nylon-covered cam gear. The Dodge Magnum engines used solid metal gears, and now the Hemi, Pentastar, and (no longer produced) 4.7/3.7 use metal. I think the same pretty much went for GM and Ford as well- certainly Ford Modulars never had plastic covered gears like the 70s 302 and 351 did. I don't think GM has used them since the days of the carbureted 350 either.

Where "nylon" or some other polymer does still come into play is timing chain guides and tensioners, but those are a lot more forgiving than the cam gears were.