2001 Corolla filter and oil recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

One of my colleague bought an 2001 Corolla with the 1.8l engine few months ago. Car has now 190.000 kms (120.000 miles).

Now, it is time for the first oil change, and since I helped him choose his car, he came to me for recommendations. I will probably do the oil change for him, so here are my questions:

- Is this engine part of the ones than can use 5w-20 instead of the 5w-30 oil initially required by Toyota?
- What is the PNs of the oil filter which goes on this engine?
- Is the oil filter on top of the engine? Canister or spin-on?

He drives about 20-25.000 kms (12-15.000 miles) a year, mainly highway driving to go to work (about 50-60 kms one way but not every day because he co-drives).

What would be the best way to do: conventional oil every 6 months or synthetic oil every year. Both checking dipstick level every month?

I have a stash of Motomaster (Shell) synthetic oil 5w20, so I can use this in this car if this now allowed by Toyota.

Otherwise, I will tell him to go to CanadianTire or Walmart and buy the oil which on sale this week (conventional or synthetic depending of your recommendations).
I will tell him to buy the oil filter at CanadianTire or Walmart too. What are the brands available over there for his car?

Thanks for your help.

Step 1: Find out if its burning oil. This is a year known for oil burning. If it is, you might want to run a HM oil to reduce the burning of oil. I dont think the 2001 was backspeccd to run 5w20 but I doubt the car will mind.

If its not burning any oil, run a good synthetic out to 10k kms and run a twice a year oil change. Any major 5w30 Synthetic and a Fram Ultra or Mobil 1 filter (those usually go on sale at Canadian tire every so often). I find Walmart usually has alot of cheap filters.