Audi A4 cam wear

Status
Not open for further replies.
The vehicle is my father's "new" 2004 A4 with the 3.0 V6. (The maintenance history is unknown, but it does have a Mann filter on it right now. Perhaps it was taken to an Audi dealer its whole life?) In another thread I mentioned it had about 117k, but it actually has 112k. We took the valve cover off to replace the leaky gasket.. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the internals, but dad noticed some excessive wear on the nose of one of the cams.

34y8sx4.png

The photo is upside down. The bad cam is on the top.. 4th from the left.
m9oris.jpg

Should I tackle a camshaft replacement myself? My biggest concern is messing up the timing and potentially ruining the engine.

The front bumper and radiator will need to come off. While I am at it, I might as well replace the timing belt and tensioner too. Might replace the water pump too, but if it isnt broke, why fix it? I have never done anything like this before and consider myself a newb mechanic.

blauparts.com made it look like I needed to replace the cam seals once I dug deeper into the engine, but they sell nothing of the sort for this engine.

^ disregard. They have the other seals in their timing belt kits. http://www.blauparts.com/proddetail.asp?prod=GH21119-1A

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: CT8
Do you have actually have the ability and a shop manual? If so do it.

Ability meaning what exactly? I have done a bunch of entry level repairs on my Jeep, but as far as digging into an engine, I have never done it before with the exception of replacing its valve cover gasket. I have a heated garage and I have ample tools. Might have to rent some though.

My dad found an online shop manual that seems to do a decent job explaining things. I am a very visual person so I would be better off reading as I go to get a 100% understanding. Scary right? Lol.

Originally Posted By: 901Memphis