Why Direct Injection Develop Carbon Deposits

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Mykl

Man, by that logic we should completely give up on internal combustion engines entirely. Those things are nothing but trouble.

Look on the bright side; all these hand-wringers obsess about DI "issues" so that we owners don't have to!

I'm pretty new to the whole diesel scene, so go easy. How is the GMC Duramax, Ram Cummins, and the 3.0L VM diesel doing in terms of DI carbon issues? I saw one guy complaining about the VM and blow-by but as it turned out it appears he wrecked his engine with his oil and Lucas cocktail, but that's going OT.

Originally Posted By: MCompact
Originally Posted By: Mykl

Man, by that logic we should completely give up on internal combustion engines entirely. Those things are nothing but trouble.

Look on the bright side; all these hand-wringers obsess about DI "issues" so that we owners don't have to!

ha!

Originally Posted By: millerbl00
You will not be laughing when you are spending all your time in arbitration...

After 8 years and nearly 140k miles with no valve deposit issues I can't really say that I'm consumed by unspeakable dread...

Well the smaller diesels do have major problems, primarily because there is no oil trap/filtration system on many of them. The commercial heavy diesels all have them. The oil particulate that get drawn along with the CCV gases if filtered out. Otherwise, when it mixed with the sooty EGR feces, it would cake up like the picture showed. This is why I vented my 2006 VM diesel in my Jeep Liberty. To prevent the oily CCV gases from going in the charge air cooler and then the intake. I did that the day after I bought it new. When I gave it to my son with over 100,000 miles on it. there was only a slight trace of soot from the EGR in the intake. No appreciable buildup.