New to me 2007 Tahoe-Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just looking for any comments or advice on things to look out for. I needed a winter vehicle and found a 2007 LT in very good condition with only 55,000 miles. It was a New Mexico titled vehicle primarily kept on their ranch so it may have had extensive off road use which may explain the low miles. The owner was a wealthy family here in Indy with a good reputation for taking care of their stuff. Plus, I've been driving it for four months now and think I've got most of the apparent issues resolved. So, I'm looking for any maintenance suggestions to keep things good for many more years and miles.

Post-purchase, I've put on new tires and shocks and resolved a stubborn CEL with new throttle body and evap system control valve (diagnosed and replaced by Chevy dealer). Also had the fuel system cleaned. Prior owner had service docs for transfer case service and new battery in Aug 2013. This is the first body-on-frame vehicle I've owned but AFAIC, it drives great. All 4WD settings work and it's been great in the one snowfall we've had this year. Mileage isn't great, 12-13 around town, but I didn't expect it to be. I haven't had it on an extended road trip yet but I'm thinking of taking it on a 2500 mile trip to Florida in March.

So, any comments or suggestions on further preventative maintainence or even mods from you GM truck veterans would be appreciated.

Make sure to grease and watch ball joints weak front end parts water will go at 130 k and make sure to keep up on atf because they are the only thing that will stop that truck from last your life time

Last edited:
don't forget transfer case fluid (autotrak II) i believe it is unique.

you are going to want to guage if their is any oil usage. some 5.3L's with the afm can use oil, but alot disable the afm.

I've got 2 first gen LS engines currently running daily in my personal fleet. Ones awd the other is lever shift 4wd.