2015 Toyota Avensis diesel / 0w-30 oils

Status
Not open for further replies.

JAT

Hi. I have been driving Toyota diesels for many years and I have used GC 0w-30 Acea C2/C3
oil. Now Castrol has changed their formula and that oil no longer qualifies as Acea C2 oil.
So for warranty reasons I can´t use it anymore.
So.. what I have been wondering: Toyota diesel calls for C2 oil (HTHS 2,9->)
Volkswagen specs for diesel call for C3 (HTHS 3,5->).
How much does low HTHS value affect on wear, and is there significant benefits
for going lighter 0w-30 oil? Ie. Motul eco-clean 0w-30 (Acea C2, HTHS 2.9 viscosity at 40C 49.3)

Last edited:
If you used previously double rated C2/C3 oil you actually already tried oil with HTHS of a minimum 3.5 c.P., just with fuel economy requirements of a C2 oil. C3 oil would provide better wear control over a C2 oil (in theory).

Last edited:
Exactly that. C3 is actually a slightly tougher spec to meet, with higher demands in diesel piston cleanliness and sludge ratings. That said, if your manual calls for C2 only, then it must be C2 (one might assume that this is demanded by the OEM to give a better experience of fuel economy...?).

Castrol recommend Magnatec 5W-30 C2 I believe.

Yes I´m aware current oil has HTHS of 3.5. In my previous car I drove for 78k with that oil (with 15k change intervals). Oil
seemed to last that mileage easily. Castrol Magnatec 5W-30 C2
would be correct choice for warranty, but it is dino oil
frown.gif

Last edited:
Mazda over here specifies C2 or a C3 oil in newer diesels. I would use C3 oil for sure if I had to choose between these two , but if Toyota in your country require only C2 oil than use it for warranty purpose.

Originally Posted By: JAT
Castrol Magnatec 5W-30 C2 would be correct choice for warranty, but it is dino oil
frown.gif

No it isn't.

Based on what information? At least Castrol Germany list 25-50 % ground oil.
And it says HC-syntese, whitch means hydrocracked group III.

Originally Posted By: JAT