Printer Ink cartridges?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: greenjp
Originally Posted By: daman
Originally Posted By: demarpaint
I take my HP cartridges to Cartridge World and swap them out for refills. I've been doing so for about 3 years now. They give you a little card they stamp and when they've stamped it 9 times you get one free refill. The prices are a lot better than buying new cartridges. So far so good.

How much is a swap out?

Can't be less than the ~$1 per that these things go for on ebay, and you don't even have to leave your house. I'm telling you folks, if you're just a home user you've got almost nothing to lose by trying the knock offs.

Right but if when the cartridge arrives and your printer don't recognize it your SOL.

I have, in the past, purchased "expired" HP cartridges. My printer gets very little use so I end up replacing them about once a year whether I use the ink or not. So far, they have performed well. Of course, there's always risk involved because you don't know about the conditions in which they were stored.

Originally Posted By: greenjp
Can't be less than the ~$1 per that these things go for on ebay, and you don't even have to leave your house. I'm telling you folks, if you're just a home user you've got almost nothing to lose by trying the knock offs.

Right but if when the cartridge arrives and your printer don't recognize it your SOL.

Worst case you might be out $11, and that's if eBay's buyer protection doesn't pick up the tab. If they work, you're ahead by nearly $150 or 14x (using my HP02 example). In this case I think SOL is being faced with paying retail for OEM cartridges!

5 pack Canon carts: $80
5 pack outlaw carts: $11

You'll have to have a lot of bad carts for that math to equal out.

2 words for anyone that prints infrequently

Brother Laser.

Starter cartridge lasted 2.5 reams

11$ aftermarket toner is on 1 year and counting.