Rustproofing for a new vehicle

Status
Not open for further replies.
While I am a big fan of CarWell and do it yearly for my two current vehicles I wonder if a different approach should be taken on a brand new vehicle. Or at least for the first 10 years say and then do CarWell.

I inquired about Waxoyl but its about $800-$900 which seems pretty high to me. CarWell is around $100.

Undecided.

Ive done Waxoyl and Carwell (Krown). I prefer the oily approach because the waxoyl makes a total mess if you want to work on your car. Its also easy to top back up.

I would definitely get it done on a new car. I might not have them drill a ton of holes, but then again, why not get the oil into the inner cavities up front?

On a new vehicle, I would opt for the Carwell right from the start.

I've done it yearly on the Accord.

I'd almost be a little bit afraid of the Waxoyl trapping sand/salt. But I have no experience with it.

Wait 1 year and do the Carwell (Krown) treatment. From my experience you don't need to do it every 12 months. The chemical remains active for 18 months. However, if you must have the warranty...it will be needed every 12 months.

Originally Posted By: KGMtech
Wait 1 year and do the Carwell (Krown) treatment. From my experience you don't need to do it every 12 months. The chemical remains active for 18 months. However, if you must have the warranty...it will be needed every 12 months.

I am not sure there is a warranty with CarWell. But I have gone roughly every year. And I cannot get the CarWell done until around April anyway as they close the shop in the dead of winter as its too cold. Even with a heated garage, it takes a day or so to bring a vehicle up to a warm temp.

Carwell does have a warranty: http://www.carwell.com/downloads/Warranty2009.pdf

My vote is to get it done new. I returned to the rust proofing regime on my current 2 year old car (Krown), hoping to stop the rot that occurs in Michigan.