can a flatbed trailer be stored on it's side?

Status
Not open for further replies.
This sounds a little strange maybe but I don't have another forum to put it in... vehicle seemed the most appropriate.

Is there any reason that a flatbed trailer could not be stored completely on it's side? I don't know if there's some reason it would affect wheel lubrication or things designed to be right side up or whatever - i'm not a mechanic and although i'm learning how things work and don't see any problems maybe there is one i'm not aware of.

Basically put in the near future i'll have access to one garage position and am trying to put both a small pickup and a trailer in there. The folding 4x8 type trailers fit but aren't really heavy enough, i'm looking at something like a 5000lb rated tandem axle trailer that's a bit longer. So I was wondering could I just flip it up onto it's side when i'm not using it? :- P I'm aware it's not the lightest thing in the world and i'm sure maybe a winch is involved and some kind of frame to hold it in position, but for a rarely used trailer which HAS to be inside perhaps I can also fit the truck next to it...

As long as its not sitting on the bottom tires, I don't see a problem with it. A trailer like that weighs quite a bit though, ~1400lbs so it would take some thinking to anchor a winch to tip it up, plus some chains or something to keep it from accidently being pulled over by someone or something.

You could, but I'd be concerned about keeping it upright and stable. Especially if kids are around-it could flop back over fairly easily.

I see three potential problems here.