If you got sucked into the SilverStar hype...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Rat407
So is there a better bulb out there or is it just best to stay with OEM?

I've been using Philips Xtreme Power for a few years now, and they have last VERY well on a SN95 Mustang that I handed down through the family. Just installed the newer version, Xtreme Power (or maybe the names or backwards, either way) on my truck. It had great forward lighting to begin with, just wanted to keep the old bulbs as spares, and the Philips did make the beam a little nicer... but they had a profound impact in that old 'stang (9007 bulbs).

Originally Posted By: Smokescreen
For the most part, stick to the bulbs that are listed on this page, http://store.candlepower.com/houpbuthno.html whether from this source or another they are top quality higher efficacy bulbs and will perform as the headlamp should.

Yes, I've been very happy with the Philips Xtreme Vision and Osram Night Breaker bulbs.

I remember getting a set of 9006 GE Nighthawks for my parents' car. They were pretty cheap - especially compared to the Sylvania Silverstars on the same racks.

When I needed a higher performance H1, I ordered either the Osram Silverstar or the Nava Rangepower. The only issue I had with the Nava was that they came loose in small cardboard boxes. Never had one that was damaged, but it didn't seem all that secure.

I'm going to do the HIR bulb upgrade on the low beams in a Toyota Matrix in a few weeks.

Will post my thoughts after I get it all done.

I started by cleaning and polishing the headlamps with the 3m headlamp kit.

I remember speaking to someone on the Daniel Stern website (may have been him himself). He steered me away from the silverstars and to the GE Nighthawk headlights. He didn't sell them, either.

Definite improvement with the Nighthawk headlights - that's for sure!

Originally Posted By: Miller88