When changing coolant should you flush....

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am planning on doing a coolant drain and refill on my Accord this Thursday. I already have two gallons of Honda Type 2, a funnel, and a clean drain pan. The process seems easy enough, but I have two questions...
1. I have never done this before, do I need to heat up the car fist before draining? If so, how long do I wait before opening the rad cap so I dont burn myself...part 2...if I dont drive it around first and just drain it cold, Ill have to start it up to get the bubbles out but it would take probably 20 minutes or so of idling to heat it up (not good).
2. After draining the coolant, should I "flush" with distilled water or is this not necessary.
Any other tips or advice are totally welcome! Its the Accord in my sig.

I wouldn't drain it hot, you can burn yourself. I'd do this:

-on a cold engine, open the petcock of the radiator and let it drain
-tighten the petcock back up and refill the radiator
-using a spill free funnel with the correct rad. cap adapter, fill the funnel half full
-start the car and let it get warm until the cooling fans come on, burp all air out of the system (until you see no bubbles in the funnel)

IMO, you don't need to get all coolant out and do a complete evac. and replace. I'd do two of these drain and refill procedures, the revisit the topic in two years.

Last edited:
I'd do it first thing in the morning when the car's cool. All Honda's need are periodic radiator drain & fills. No flushing with distilled water is really required. The only time a flush is warranted is when you have non-Honda coolant in the system. Blue Honda Type 2 isn't compatible with the green all makes/models generic coolant, so the system would require flushing to remove the old stuff first. Also remove the old fluid from the overflow tank and refill.

The coolant in my sig. Accord is also due. I'm just going to wait til the summer when I do the timing belt & water pump.