Alcohol as diesel additive, pros and cons

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Excalibur

Originally Posted By: demarpaint
I've been thinking about this a bit this morning. If alcohol emulsifies water wouldn't that cause it to get past the water separator and into the pump and injectors causing more harm than good to a diesel engine? I'm having a hard time thinking anything containing alcohol is good for a diesel engine. I don't think it would do the seals in a diesel engine any good either. IIRC some of the old Powerstroke [?] diesel owners manuals warn against using any additives with alcohol in the fuel. I can see it useful in gas, but I'm still learning about diesel.
Some of those older diesel injector pumps didn't have seals which would even cope with ULSD.
I did note that ethanol gasoline blurb I read was quick to point out it contained rust inhibitors. I wondered at the time how much the comment was more about "marketing" or was it the fact that ethanol needed it.

I still can't wrap my head around it emulsifying the water and as a result it getting past the water separator and into the pump and injectors as a good thing. That is the last thing I'd want happening. I think frequently draining the water separator and leaving the additives with alchol out of the fuel is the better thing to do. Now TCW3 might have some benefit in lubing the pump, and something worth considering adding to the fuel. I'm anxious to learn though.

Originally Posted By: totegoat
If you are interested in a long life diesel, additives aren't needed.