Quaker State Ultimate Durability or Mobil 1 5w20

Status
Not open for further replies.
Which is the more liked synthetic oil between Mobil 1 And Quaker State Ultimate Durability in 5w20 for cleaning and all around performance?

Ran M1 5W20 exclusively for around 70,000 miles in my Accord. My mechanic --when replacing the valve cover gasket about a year ago-- said the engine was very clean. Currently using QSUD since it was on sale. It's definitely quieter than M1. You really can't go wrong with either oil.

Originally Posted By: mclasser
Ran M1 5W20 exclusively for around 70,000 miles in my Accord. My mechanic --when replacing the valve cover gasket about a year ago-- said the engine was very clean. Currently using QSUD since it was on sale. It's definitely quieter than M1. You really can't go wrong with either oil.

+1

I have been using QSUD for several years now. It is quieter than some other oils I have used in my Vibe. Price is always good as well. Similar in composition to Platinum but 4 dollars cheaper.

Pick the cheapest one. Both are excellent products and there's no practical way to tell which one would be better in actual usage. And on top of that the difference might be too small to measure.

Both are excellent but I would feel more comfortable extending my OCI on Mobil 1.

I base this opinion on UOAs that I read on the Chevy Cruze turbo.

All things being equal? M1 simply due to the performance that I have experienced in my FX4. However, I ran QSUD in my Hyundai Azera and it worked very well--nice and quiet, but I did not extend the OCI in it so I cannot speak to TBN retention. You likely could not go wrong with either oil.